Green Bay Gamblers: A History of Unforgettable Upsets and Wins

Green Bay Gamblers

From the icy winds of Wisconsin to the roar of the crowd at the Resch Center, the Green Bay Gamblers have captivated fans with their unwavering determination and thrilling performances. Since their inception in 1994, this junior ice hockey team has etched their name in history with their historic upsets and wins. As one of the leading teams in the United States Hockey League (USHL), the Gamblers have continuously displayed their resilience and passion for the sport. Let’s dive into some of their most memorable moments in Green Bay Gamblers history.

The Rise of the Green Bay Gamblers

The Green Bay Gamblers, originally known as the Virginia Lancers, were part of the East Coast Hockey League (ECHL) until 1995. That year, the team relocated to Green Bay, Wisconsin, and rebranded themselves as the Gamblers. With their new name and a new home, the team found their footing in the USHL and began writing their story of success.

The Gamblers quickly established themselves as a formidable force in the league, with their first standout moment coming in the 2000-2001 season. Led by head coach Jon Cooper, the team ended the regular season with a record of 46-12-4, clinching the Anderson Cup for the first time in team history. This award is presented to the team with the best regular-season record in the USHL, and the Gamblers had proved themselves as a force to be reckoned with.

The 2009-2010 Frozen Four Victory

In the 2009-2010 season, the Gamblers made their mark once again, this time on a national level. After an impressive regular season, the team fought their way through the playoffs and secured their spot in the USHL’s Frozen Four. In a nail-biting game, the Gamblers faced off against the Fargo Force and emerged victorious with a final score of 6-3, earning the organization their first-ever Clark Cup and bringing home a national championship to Green Bay.

This monumental win not only solidified the Gamblers as champions but also marked the first time in USHL history that a team from Wisconsin had won the Clark Cup. As the arena erupted in cheers and confetti rained down, the Gamblers had made history and will forever be remembered for their resilience and unwavering commitment to the sport.

The Beginnings of a Dynasty

Following the Frozen Four victory, the Green Bay Gamblers continued to prove themselves as a powerhouse in the USHL. From 2010 to 2012, the team reached the Clark Cup playoffs three years in a row, making it to the finals twice and winning the championship once in 2011-2012. This three-year stretch cemented the Gamblers as a dynasty, dominating the league and setting a standard of excellence for future teams.

In the 2011-2012 season, the Gamblers achieved an impressive record of 48-15-5 and once again brought the Anderson Cup back to Green Bay. They continued their winning streak in the playoffs, defeating the Waterloo Black Hawks to claim their second Clark Cup in just four years. Led by head coach Derek LaLonde, the team from Titletown had once again proven their resilience and perseverance, etching themselves in the history books of the USHL.

The Current Team and the Future Ahead

The Green Bay Gamblers have consistently produced talented players who have risen through the ranks to reach the highest levels of ice hockey. Since the team’s inception, over 200 players have advanced to play in the National Hockey League (NHL), including stars like Adam Burish and Zach Parise.

The current roster is no exception, with players like defensemen Jackson Kunz and forwards Ben and Jason Smolarek leading the charge for another shot at the championship. Head coach Pat Mikesch has continued the tradition of excellence, instilling a strong work ethic and a winning mentality within the team.

As the Gamblers continue to forge their path to success, there’s no question that they will continue to bring pride to the city of Green Bay and make their mark in the world of ice hockey.


Green Bay Gamblers,

Upsets and Wins,

Historic Moments