Owen Sound Attack Historic Seasons: A Look Back at Their Championship Years

Owen Sound Attack

For hockey fans, there’s nothing quite like the thrill of watching their favorite team make it to the top and win a championship. It’s a feeling of excitement, pride, and joy that stays with them for years to come. And for fans of the Owen Sound Attack, there have been plenty of moments to celebrate as the team has had its fair share of success over the years.

With their distinctive black and green jerseys and fierce Attack Attack Attack chant, the Owen Sound Attack of the Ontario Hockey League (OHL) have been a force to be reckoned with since the team’s inception in 1989. Known for developing young players and competing at a high level, the Attack has become a prominent fixture in the hockey world, both in Canada and abroad.

In this article, we’ll take a trip down memory lane and relive some of the most unforgettable seasons in the Owen Sound Attack’s history. From their first OHL championship victory in 2001 to their most recent championship run in 2011, we’ll explore the key moments, players, and teams that made these years truly exceptional.

2000-2001 Season: Breaking the Curse and Winning the Robertson Cup

The 2000-2001 season was a pivotal moment in the Owen Sound Attack’s history. After years of struggling to make it past the first round of playoffs, the team finally cracked the code and went on an impressive postseason run that would ultimately lead to their first-ever OHL championship win.

Led by then-head coach Greg Ireland, the Attack finished the regular season with a record of 40-18-4-6 and earned a spot in the playoffs as the third seed in the Midwest Division. In the first round of playoffs, the Attack faced off against the Windsor Spitfires, defeating them in six games. They then took on the top-seeded London Knights and swept them in four games, earning a spot in the Western Conference Finals for the first time in franchise history.

In the Conference Finals, the Attack faced the Plymouth Whalers and emerged victorious with a 4-1 series win, setting up a matchup against the Ottawa 67’s for the OHL championship (the Robertson Cup). In what turned out to be an intense and highly competitive series, the Attack and 67’s battled it out for seven games, with the Attack coming out on top with a 7-4 win in the final game. The city of Owen Sound erupted in celebration as the team broke their playoff curse and hoisted the Robertson Cup for the first time.

2010-2011 Season: Bringing Home the J. Ross Robertson Cup Again

Fast forward ten years to the 2010-2011 season, and the Owen Sound Attack found themselves in a familiar position once again: competing in the OHL playoffs for a chance at the Robertson Cup. But this time, the team was even more determined to bring the championship title back home.

With new head coach Mark Reeds at the helm, the 2010-2011 Attack roster included future NHL stars like Bobby Ryan, Michael McNiven, and former first-round draft pick Jordan Binnington. The team finished the regular season with a record of 46-17-1-4, earning them the top spot in the Western Conference.

In the playoffs, the Attack blazed through the competition, defeating the Plymouth Whalers in six games in the first round and sweeping the Kitchener Rangers in the second round. In the Western Conference Finals, the Attack faced off against their rival team, the Windsor Spitfires. In what can only be described as an electrifying series, the two teams battled for seven intense games, with the Attack ultimately emerging victorious and advancing to the OHL Finals.

In the OHL Finals, the Attack faced the Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors and defeated them in six games, bringing the J. Ross Robertson Cup back to Owen Sound for the second time in franchise history. With their championship win, the Owen Sound Attack gained a special place in the hearts of their fans and solidified their spot as one of the top teams in the OHL.

The Legacy of the Owen Sound Attack

The success of the Owen Sound Attack extends far beyond their two championship seasons. Throughout their history, the team has produced numerous NHL players, including current stars like Matt Duchene, Brandon Saad, and Logan Couture. The team has also developed a reputation for being a tough opponent, with a strong focus on player development and a winning mentality.

But perhaps the most significant legacy of the Owen Sound Attack is the strong support and dedication of their fans. The team has a loyal and passionate fan base that continues to cheer them on, whether they’re fighting for a playoff spot or lifting the championship trophy. The city of Owen Sound has become a hub for hockey enthusiasts, and the team has become a valuable asset to the community, both on and off the ice.

For fans of the Owen Sound Attack, these historic seasons will forever hold a special place in their memories. From the heart-stopping moments on the ice to the unforgettable parades and celebrations that followed, these championship years have left a lasting impact on the team, their fans, and the hockey world as a whole.


Owen Sound Attack,


Canadian hockey