Ottawa 67 Historic Seasons: A Journey Through Their Championship Years

Ottawa 67s

Since its founding in 1967, the Ottawa 67s have established themselves as a powerhouse in the Canadian Hockey League (CHL). With a record-breaking 7 Memorial Cup Championship titles, the 67s have undoubtedly left a lasting mark in the world of hockey. As we look back at their historic seasons, we will delve into the triumphs and challenges that have defined this team and shaped them into the unstoppable force they are today.

The Ottawa 67s were established as a part of the first expansion of the OHA (Ontario Hockey Association) after the original six Canadian teams joined the NHL in 1967. The franchise was named after Canada’s centennial year and has since evolved into one of the most successful junior hockey teams in the country.

As the team entered the OHA, they were led by Jim McClelland, who was also the GM of the Toronto Maple Leafs at the time. With a roster packed with talented players, including future NHL stars like Bobby Smith, Doug Wilson, and Denis Potvin, the 67s quickly made a name for themselves. In their debut season, the team clinched the J. Ross Robertson Cup, awarded to the OHA’s championship team.

The following years saw the 67s continue their success, making it to the Memorial Cup tournament multiple times but failing to clinch the title until 1977. Led by coach and former player Brian Kilrea, the team finally brought home the trophy, solidifying their place as a dominant force in junior hockey.

The 1980s proved to be a difficult period for the 67s as they struggled to maintain their success, making it to the Memorial Cup only twice and failing to secure the title. However, the team made a strong comeback in the 1990s, winning the Memorial Cup in 1999 and securing their first back-to-back championship in 2000.

The early 2000s saw the 67s continue their streak of success, making it to the Memorial Cup three more times and clinching two more titles in 2001 and 2005. During this time, the team saw the rise of future NHL stars such as Logan Couture, Corey Locke, and Tyler Toffoli, who all played a significant role in leading the team to victory.

In recent years, the Ottawa 67s have continued to dominate in the OHL (Ontario Hockey League), clinching their seventh Memorial Cup title in 2019. With a roster filled with talented young players, the team has once again established themselves as a force to be reckoned with in the CHL.

As we look back on the Ottawa 67s’ historic seasons, it is clear that the team’s success can be attributed to a combination of talent, dedication, and strong leadership. The 67s have consistently produced some of the most promising young players in the country, many of whom have gone on to have successful careers in the NHL.

The team’s unwavering support from their passionate fanbase has also played a crucial role in their success. From the early days of the franchise to the present, the 67s have had a loyal and dedicated fan following, always ready to cheer them on through the highs and lows of each season.

With the future looking bright for the Ottawa 67s, it is evident that their legacy will continue to resonate in the world of hockey for years to come. As they strive for even more championship titles, the 67s will undoubtedly continue to captivate and inspire hockey fans around the world.

The Ottawa 67s’ historic seasons are a testament to the passion, talent, and perseverance that hockey represents. They have proven time and time again that with determination and hard work, anything is possible. As we continue to follow this incredible team, we can only imagine the future greatness they will achieve.


Ottawa 67s,


junior hockey